The Governor of Abia State, Dr. Alex Otti, has congratulated the newly elected leaders of the National Assembly.
Governor Otti in a statement on Wednesday by his Chief Press Secretary, Kazie Uko, extended warm wishes to Senator Godswill Akpabio and Rt. Hon. Tajudeen Abbas, on their successful emergence as the President of the Senate and Speaker of the Federal House of Representatives, respectively.
The Governor also congratulated the newly-elected Deputy Speaker of the Federal House, Rt. Hon. Benjamin Kalu, who is from Abia State, describing the nomination and election of the second term lawmaker as an expression of confidence by his party and colleagues.
Kalu represents Bende Federal Constituency on the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC). He had served as the Spokesman of the House in his first term.
Similarly, Governor Otti congratulated all the Labour Party (LP) members from across the 36 states of the federation and Abuja for their successful inauguration into the National Assembly.
He described the LP lawmakers, seven of whom are from Abia State, as change agents, who carry the expectations and hopes of Nigerians for a better future on their shoulders.
“You must remain faithful to the principles of justice, fairness and equity, which are the major ingredients of good governance and for which course the Obidients, indeed Nigerians, had elected you,” Governor Otti counselled.
Senator Darlington Nwokocha, Abia Central, leads the seven National Assembly members from Abia State elected on the LP platform.
From the House of Reps are: Hon. Obi Aguocha, Ikwuano-Umuahia; Hon. Munachim Alozie, Obingwa-Ugwunagbo-Osisioma; Hon. Ibe Okwara, Arochukwu-Ohafia; Hon. Ginger Onwusibe, Isialangwa North and South; Hon. Amobi Ogah, Isuikwuato-Umunneochi and Hon. Emeka Nnamani, Aba North and South.
Dr. Otti expressed happiness that the process that brought about the National Assembly leadership was conducted in atmosphere devoid of rancour and unnecessary tension.